A medication name is not the same thing as a documented treatment product. That distinction matters when evaluating Salt Spa & Wellness Center, a Virginia Beach medical spa that advertises semaglutide and tirzepatide injections alongside an online weight-loss program. Its public materials describe several practical features, including voice or video consultations, medication delivery and weekly provider check-ins. They do not identify the exact products a patient would receive or establish how outcomes from clinical trials apply to those products.
This review separates three questions: what Salt Spa says it offers, what independent clinical sources establish, and what remains unresolved before enrollment. The consulted pages, reviewed October 19, 2026, support describing Salt Spa as an advertised GLP-1 provider, but not assigning it a clinical effectiveness rating. For readers comparing services, the central task is to connect the advertised care pathway with a named prescription, responsible clinician, dispensing pharmacy and written financial terms.
At a glance
- Advertised medications
- Salt Spa names semaglutide and tirzepatide weight-loss injections, without identifying brands, concentrations, presentations or compounded status in the consulted documentation.
- Remote service outline
- The online program advertises a voice or video consultation, medications and supplies by mail, and weekly provider check-ins.Sources: [6]
- Price disclosure
- A weight-loss consultation is advertised as free. Treatment costs are described as variable, without a published amount or billing interval in the consulted pages.Sources: [6]
- Named pharmacy partners
- Salt Spa lists Anazao Health in Tampa, Florida, and WeCare Pharmacy in Warrenton, Virginia; the pages do not assign a particular prescription to either pharmacy.Sources: [6]
- Physical location and access
- The center lists 1817 Republic Road, Suite B, Virginia Beach, VA 23454, telephone (757) 496-4937, and appointment requests by phone or online.Sources: [10]
Start with the product, not the ingredient name
Salt Spa explicitly advertises semaglutide and tirzepatide injections for weight management. That is a meaningful description of its offering, but it leaves several evidence-critical details open: brand, formulation, concentration, presentation and whether a prescription would be filled with an FDA-approved product or a compounded preparation. The published names establish what the center markets, not precisely what it dispenses. An injectable route is documented; a particular vial, pen or other presentation is not.
The weight-loss page describes the treatment as prescription medication used with a reduced-calorie diet and exercise. Its general explanation also refers to GIP and GLP-1 without clearly separating the two advertised options. That wording should not be treated as a product-specific pharmacology explanation for both medicines. A prospective patient needs the actual prescription identified rather than relying on a broad description of “GLP-1” treatment or assuming that every option has the same characteristics.
FDA approval attaches to a specific product, not to a medical spa or pharmacy. FDA also explains that compounded preparations are not approved and do not undergo its premarket review for safety, effectiveness and quality. That distinction alone does not establish clinical inequivalence, and Salt Spa’s pages do not establish compounded status. Our guide to approved medicines and compounded preparations explains why product identity must come before judgments about the evidence.
| Topic | Public documentation | Remaining question |
|---|---|---|
| Medication | Semaglutide and tirzepatide injections | Which exact product, formulation and presentation? |
| Consultation | Voice or video visit; free weight-loss consultation advertised | Who evaluates and prescribes, and what does the free visit cover? |
| Delivery | Medications and all supplies provided by mail | Which pharmacy ships, on what timeline and under what handling conditions? |
| Follow-up | Weekly check-in with a provider | What format, response time and between-visit support apply? |
| Cost | Treatment cost can vary | What is charged initially, subsequently and separately? |
Clinical research is not a Salt Spa outcomes report
The center says it has provided expertise in GLP-1 weight-loss injections for more than two years. That is a provider statement about experience, not an independently verified measure of effectiveness. The consulted documentation does not supply a clinic-level outcomes study, defined patient population, follow-up completion rate or systematic adverse-event analysis. Without those elements, descriptions of success cannot establish how much weight Salt Spa patients typically lose, how many discontinue or how consistently the program delivers follow-up.
Independent trials answer narrower questions. STEP 1 studied subcutaneous semaglutide in adults with obesity, or overweight plus a weight-related condition, without diabetes, over 68 weeks; both groups received lifestyle intervention. SURMOUNT-1 studied subcutaneous tirzepatide in adults with obesity, or overweight plus a weight-related complication, excluding diabetes, over 72 weeks. These were randomized trials funded by Novo Nordisk and Eli Lilly, respectively, and gastrointestinal tolerability and treatment discontinuation were relevant findings—not just weight change.
Neither study evaluated Salt Spa, its clinicians or an unidentified preparation obtained through its program. Their findings cannot automatically be extended to compounded products, different routes, microdoses or an individual patient, nor do the separate trials create a head-to-head provider ranking. The distinction explained in why a clinical trial is not a company performance report is especially important here: established drug research does not fill gaps in a provider’s own product and service documentation.
A named team, but an unresolved prescribing assignment
Salt Spa identifies itself as the medical spa of Galardi I Bowen Plastic Surgery. Its team page names Dr. Nicholas R. Galardi and Dr. J. Byers Bowen as medical directors and lists Elizabeth Galardi with the FNP-C credential, identifying a family nurse practitioner rather than a physician. These disclosures provide names and organizational context. They do not establish which professional conducts a particular patient’s weight-loss evaluation or signs that patient’s prescription.
Another page says the center’s more intensive skin treatments use medical-grade techniques and products under a licensed physician’s supervision. That statement concerns the described skin services; it should not be stretched into a verified account of GLP-1 supervision. This review did not independently verify professional licenses or credentials. For the online program, the public description promises consultation with an experienced provider but does not assign responsibility to one of the named team members.
The broader business includes IV therapies featuring NAD+, high-dose vitamin C and B12, as well as testing through Cell Science Systems. Neither the Methyl Detox Profile nor food-sensitivity testing is established as a GLP-1 enrollment requirement. Likewise, advertised at-home or event-based IV concierge services are not a promise of home administration of GLP-1 injections. Keeping these service lines separate avoids importing the spa’s wider offerings into an undocumented weight-management package.
What the online care pathway actually promises
Salt Spa promotes an online program that does not require visiting its office. The stated first step is a voice or video consultation to develop a personalized plan. This is more specific than simply advertising telehealth, because it identifies a consultation format. However, the pages do not explain intake documentation, required testing, appointment length or clinical review turnaround. Nor do they publish minimum age, BMI criteria or other program-specific eligibility requirements.
The next documented element is medications and all supplies provided by mail, followed by a weekly check-in with a provider to assess progress and modify medication needs. The center also says its providers work with patients to determine whether adjustments are necessary. These are substantive service commitments, but the documentation does not describe whether the weekly contact is a scheduled call, video visit, message exchange or another format, or how missed contacts are handled.
Remote availability should not be confused with nationwide availability. A Virginia Beach office and an online program do not establish the states where clinicians can treat patients or the destinations to which pharmacies will ship. Before completing enrollment, a reader should confirm eligibility based on their location and ask who remains responsible for ongoing prescribing. General medical eligibility guidance cannot substitute for Salt Spa’s own criteria or an individual assessment by the treating clinician.
Named pharmacies improve traceability, not product certainty
The weight-loss page identifies two pharmacy partners. Anazao Health is listed at 5710 Hoover Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33634, with Info@anazaohealth.com and 800-995-4363. WeCare Pharmacy is listed at 516 Fletcher Drive, Warrenton, VA 20186, with Info@wecarepharm.com and 844-309-3782. These are useful contact paths for clarifying a prescription once the dispensing pharmacy is identified. Listing partners does not establish which one fills each medication or whether either compounds a particular prescription.
The promise to mail medication and supplies leaves the delivery process largely undescribed. The consulted pages do not specify preparation time, dispatch timing, transit estimates, arrival commitments, temperature-control arrangements or responsibility for a delayed or damaged shipment. They also do not define exactly which supplies accompany each presentation. Readers should obtain instructions from the prescriber or pharmacy rather than assume that a delivery statement includes every item, every shipping charge or a particular service standard.
FDA advises patients not to use an injectable GLP-1 drug that arrives warm or with insufficient refrigeration, and to contact the provider or dispensing pharmacy. That is general regulatory guidance, not evidence of a shipping problem at Salt Spa. It makes the missing issue-resolution process consequential, however. Our discussion of cold-chain and delivery claims distinguishes a shipping promise from evidence about handling, arrival condition and who will resolve a concern.
Weekly follow-up needs a clinical support framework
Salt Spa’s weekly check-in is one of its clearest advertised program features. Its page also lists possible side effects, including nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, constipation, abdominal pain and decreased appetite. Reporting that list shows what the center discloses; it is not a complete, product-specific safety assessment. The public materials do not explain a structured symptom review, escalation criteria or how a patient reaches the responsible clinician between the promised weekly contacts.
NIDDK describes medication selection as a discussion of benefits, side effects, health conditions, other medicines, family history and cost. It also emphasizes that follow-up concerns response and tolerance, not simply continued payment. Salt Spa’s stated willingness to assess progress and adjust treatment is consistent with an ongoing-care model, but its pages do not establish how those tasks are carried out. A useful consultation would clarify what information is reviewed and how decisions are communicated.
FDA has received reports of measurement and administration errors involving compounded medications, including some associated with hospitalization. These reports are not a Salt Spa event rate, and the program’s compounded status is unresolved. They nevertheless reinforce the importance of obtaining product-specific instructions from the prescriber or pharmacist. FDA recommends compounded drugs when an individual’s medical needs cannot be met by an approved drug. The broader issue is why clinical follow-up differs from a renewal notice.
A free consultation does not establish the treatment bill
Salt Spa advertises a free weight-loss consultation and says injection costs can vary, with several medication options available. No treatment amount is established in the consulted pages. Consequently, there is no documented first payment, renewal price, billing interval, supply duration or total package cost to compare. The free consultation should be understood as the stated offer—not as free medication, free ongoing care or evidence that subsequent visits carry no separate charge.
The pages also leave the boundaries of the treatment price unresolved. They do not establish whether medication, all consultations, laboratory work, weekly monitoring and shipping are covered by one payment. Insurance participation, medication coverage, HSA/FSA payments, discounts and GLP-1 financing terms are not confirmed. A privacy notice discusses disclosing relevant information to obtain financing approval when a patient wants to finance treatment, but that does not document a particular financing plan for this program.
Before paying, request a written quote tied to the exact medication and presentation, with separate charges identified. Renewal, refill authorization, minimum commitment, cancellation, returns and refunds also remain undocumented here. Cancellation should not be assumed to create a refund entitlement. ReVITalize memberships appear in the business’s materials, but their prices, terms and financial relationship to GLP-1 care are not established. A membership label is not enough to determine what a weight-management patient would owe.
Contact access and privacy require separate verification
The center lists its Virginia Beach address and telephone, (757) 496-4937, and allows appointment requests by phone or online. Salt Spa’s posted hours are Monday and Friday, 9 a.m.–5 p.m.; Tuesday and Thursday, 9 a.m.–7 p.m.; Wednesday, 9 a.m.–6 p.m.; and Saturday, 9 a.m.–1 p.m. These are useful office-access details, but they do not establish an urgent clinical channel or a response-time commitment for remote weight-loss patients.
Separate ReVITalize hours are Monday through Friday, 9 a.m.–5 p.m., and Saturday, 9 a.m.–1 p.m. Those hours likewise should not be interpreted as continuous telehealth support. The consulted pages are in English and do not confirm Spanish-language care or interpretation. For a remote patient, the practical questions are which number or platform handles medication concerns, when clinical staff monitor it and what process applies outside those hours.
The privacy notice recognizes rights to inspect and copy protected information and request confidential communications through alternative means or locations. It also says the site allows third-party behavioral tracking. Another statement characterizes the website as providing articles and information, while the treatment page advertises online care. The documentation does not resolve which platforms handle clinical intake or payments. Patients can ask where sensitive information is entered and how records, messages and financial information are managed.
Questions & answers
Does Salt Spa offer FDA-approved semaglutide or tirzepatide?
It advertises both medicines as injections, but the consulted pages do not identify brands or establish whether the products are FDA approved or compounded. Ask for the exact prescribed product, formulation, presentation and dispensing pharmacy. Approval of a particular drug cannot be transferred to the clinic or inferred from an ingredient name.
How much does Salt Spa’s weight-loss program cost?
The documented offer is a free weight-loss consultation. Salt Spa says treatment costs vary but does not publish an amount in the consulted material. Request the initial and subsequent charges, billing period, supply duration and separate fees in writing. The medication, follow-up and shipping should not be assumed free or included merely because the consultation is free.
Can someone outside Virginia use the online program?
The pages promote care without an office visit, but they do not establish eligible states or shipping destinations. The physical office is in Virginia Beach. Confirm that the program can treat someone in your location before scheduling or paying; neither remote consultation language nor a pharmacy address establishes nationwide availability.
Who conducts the consultation and prescribes medication?
Salt Spa promises a voice or video consultation with a provider and publishes medical-director and nurse-practitioner names. It does not specify which professional evaluates or prescribes for each GLP-1 patient. Ask for that clinician’s name, professional role and responsibility for follow-up; the team roster alone does not answer the prescribing question.
What does the advertised weekly follow-up include?
The description promises a weekly provider check-in to assess progress and modify medication needs. It does not specify the contact format, duration, missed-visit policy or response time between check-ins. Clarify whether these contacts are scheduled, included in the treatment price and supported by a separate process for concerns that arise before the next review.
Which pharmacy sends the medication, and what if delivery is warm?
Salt Spa lists Anazao Health and WeCare Pharmacy, but does not assign every prescription to one partner or publish delivery-resolution terms. Confirm the dispensing pharmacy and its contact details before shipment. FDA explicitly advises not using injectable GLP-1 medication that arrives warm or insufficiently refrigerated and contacting the provider or pharmacy to resolve the concern.
Our assessment
Salt Spa documents a recognizable service outline: two named injectable medicines, remote consultation, mailed medication and supplies, weekly provider contact, pharmacy partners and a physical office. Those disclosures offer useful starting points for evaluating access and accountability. They do not establish exact product identity, provider-specific outcomes, interstate availability or the financial and cancellation terms of treatment. Independent clinical research supports evaluating particular medicines under studied conditions; it does not validate this program’s performance. The most useful next step is to obtain a named prescription, responsible clinician, dispensing pharmacy and written care-and-cost terms. The advertised free consultation can help resolve those questions, but should not be mistaken for evidence that the remaining arrangements are already documented.
This opens the reviewed business’s website. The link is not a prescription or endorsement. Commercial relationships.
Sources & documentation
Public materials consulted October 19, 2026. Provider statements are attributed claims, not independently verified clinical outcomes. Terms can change; obtain a current written quote.
- FDA concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss ↗
- NIDDK: prescription medications for overweight and obesity ↗
- Wilding et al. (2021): STEP 1 semaglutide trial ↗
- Jastreboff et al. (2022): SURMOUNT-1 tirzepatide trial ↗
- Salt Spa & Wellness Center — official website ↗
- Salt Spa & Wellness Center — treatments/semaglutide weight loss ↗
- Salt Spa & Wellness Center — privacy policy ↗
- Salt Spa & Wellness Center — treatments category/revitalize at salt spa ↗
- Salt Spa & Wellness Center — team ↗
- Salt Spa & Wellness Center — contact ↗
- Salt Spa & Wellness Center — about ↗